Have You Seen My Mojo??

I’ve lost my mojo… my exercise mojo that is. Winking smile  I use to be so good at always hitting the gym after work or getting on the treadmill when I got home.  Lately I have been just coasting by, exercising here and there, but nothing consistent.  I have a 1/2 marathon (my first) on June 5th and to be honest with you, (I mean I can be honest here, right?) I have not trained like I should.  At this point I will be happy to just finish, and I can accept that.  You get out of a race what you put in it.  So I will just have fun with this one, do my best, and chalk this up as a learning experience.

With that being said, today I declared that I was going to get my mojo back!  Well, again to be honest (I do consider this my safe place), I say this a lot.  But, what I love about new days are the opportunities to be blessed enough to be given another chance to do better and be better! Smile  It is never too late to try harder and give it another shot.

So that is what I did.  Now I almost failed again because I was supposed to meet a friend for Bikram Yoga, and when she had to cancel I almost lost my motivation to work out on my own.  Workout partners are absolutely the best, but I guess this was a lesson that we shouldn’t necessarily use them as a crutch.

So I got my act together quickly and decided to go online to find a workout I could do at home.  I have always loved the Tone It Up girls and their workouts are always awesome!

Me before my workout:

Me Before Workout

And after, lol:

Me After Workout

Whew!  I chose their Beach Babe Workout and it kicked my boo-tay.

Most of their workouts are circuit style.  They had me doing frog jumps (jumping squats), side lunges, push-ups, high knees, and waistline crunches… circuit repeated 3x.  It was only about 10-13 minutes but it sure had me out of breath.  This is a great way you can sneak in some exercise when you are pressed for time but still want to sweat it out.

After my quick workout, and a shower, I had some errands to run so I had to grab a snack to-go and eat in the car.

Snack in Car

Snack was organic peanut butter from MOM’s Organic Market, banana, and coconut water.

Vita Coco

I Red heart coconut water. Best. Stuff. Ever.

And… since I was good and worked out for all of 10 minutes, lol, I decided to treat myself to Starbucks after shopping around in Target.  I have been eyeing their new Mocha Coconut Frappuccino for awhile now.

Mocha Coconut Frap

OMG! This was seriously like a party on my tongue. Party smile

My exercise goals for this week will be to:

  • Do a quickie workout (like the Beach Babe workout) to start my morning everyday this week.
  • Run at least 3x this week after work.
  • If I do not run, end my night with a quickie yoga workout (I have another site to share that is awesome for yoga)
  • Take BodyCombat (cardio kickboxing) on Thursday at my gym (if I can get off work in time).

If I can do these things I am sure I can jump start my body back into craving workouts… and once again have my mojo flowing!

I will need all the mojo I can get because I also have the Warrior Dash coming up this Sunday… 3.1 miles of obstacles through lots and lots of mud!  I am still on the lookout for some awesome costumes.  I looked at pictures from last year’s event and some of the costumes (which are optional) were so freakin hilarious.  I think it will be so fun to dress up and get muddy… but I’m a dork like that. Just kidding

How do you get your mojo back??

~YGFF

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. greekmelie
    May 16, 2011 @ 00:35:11

    I think your mojo has run away along with mine and are now hiding from us… But it does feel so good to workout again. I forced myself to go to the gym today and it felt so good afterwards. I had the same post-workout snack too! Minus the coconut water though. I really really hate this stuff!

    Reply

    • yourgirlfriendforfitness
      May 16, 2011 @ 15:02:10

      It does feel good once you get moving. I need to learn to get my workouts done early because I think half my problem is just being completely exhausted by the end of the day. I definitely had to get use to coconut water at first, but now I love it :)

      Reply

  2. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition
    May 16, 2011 @ 12:36:16

    I recently lost my mojo too. It was a combo of getting a new job, my diet and pure laziness. Since the weather is getting nicer here in Chi I have been going outside for a run during my lunch hour which is great! I get some fresh air, get my blood pumping in the middle of the day (which gives me more energy throughout the afternoon) and I fit my workout in so I don’t have to get up super early or try to fit it in after a long day at work! :)

    Reply

    • yourgirlfriendforfitness
      May 16, 2011 @ 15:03:22

      At my last job I was able to work out during lunch and absolutely loved it. Now I can’t do that and it is so hard to gather up the energy to do it after work, especially when you have a six-year-old. I need to work on becoming a morning person, lol.

      Reply

  3. Andrea @ The Skinny Chronicles
    May 16, 2011 @ 17:09:55

    I hate losing exercise mojo. Happens to me all the time. Especially when it’s raining outside or I didn’t sleep good the night before. Brutal.

    Reply

  4. workingmomworksout
    May 17, 2011 @ 08:40:53

    Haha. You are too cute!!

    I had the same problem last week and I finally feel like I’m getting my mojo back. Once you miss a few days, it’s easy to make excuses to miss others.

    I think Caitlin at HTP said something like – I never regret a workout… I do regret missing a workout. <-Sound advice.

    Reply

  5. MelissaNibbles
    May 17, 2011 @ 10:02:45

    I love circuit workouts. If I feel the loss of my mojo coming on, I just force myself to workout. Just do it and it’s done is what I like to say.

    Reply

  6. melissa
    May 17, 2011 @ 22:14:19

    I’m right there with you. Beofre my vacation I would get up at 5a every morning and work out before work… I had a 2 week vacation and came home the 13th and can’t seen to get moving until 6:30a! I need my mojo back!

    I love TIU’s videos! Short and to the point.

    Reply

  7. T.
    May 20, 2011 @ 11:23:33

    Love this site!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

