Weekend Wrap Up

Thank you all for all the Happy Mother’s Day wishes!  I had such a great weekend, very relaxing.

I did end up making it to the gym on Saturday before the gym’s kidzclub closed.  I had an hour to work out, so I knocked out 4 miles on the treadmill doing intervals while watching a movie (The Switch with Jennifer Aniston was playing) in the gym’s cardio theatre.  Cute movie.  I was very proud of myself :)

Then we were off to go pick up my mother’s Mother’s Day gift from my daughter.  The week before I took her to Color Me Mine to paint her a coffee mug and it was ready to be picked up… I forgot to take a pic of it :(

Do you have a Color Me Mine, it is the most awesome place.  They have hundreds of ceramic pieces you can choose from, and  you get to paint it however you like.  They have a huge variety of paint colors, brushes, and stencils to make your creation great.  It was sooo adorable and my mother really loved it!

A little photo shoot occured while downtown when we walked by the fountain, lol…

Saturday night I decided to try and make Raw Brownies with Chocolate Icing of Pure Amazingness.  I have been holding onto this recipe from Wayfaring Chocolate and it did not disappoint!  I stuck to her recipe and followed it exactly.

The ingredient list was pretty simple and I already had them on hand:

  • Walnuts
  • Medjool dates
  • Cocoa powder
  • Avocado
  • Agave
  • Vanilla extract
  • Salt
  • Cinnamon

These were soooo tasty and totally satisfied my sweet tooth, without the guilt :)    The base of the brownie is basically dates, walnuts and cocoa poweder… seen here about to go for a whirl in my handy dandy food processor.

The remaining ingridients, along with more cocoa powder is used to creat the AWESOME icing.  I recommend that you try these immediately.  I even had the BF try them and they got his stamp of approval, which is a very hard thing to do.

The final product after setting in the freezer for a couple hours…

mmmmm…. delicious! :)

Sunday (Mother’s Day) we went to my Aunt’s house in the morning for Brunch and then to my mother’s house later for dinner.  It was really laid back and we all just got to enjoy each other’s company… my kind of weekend!

And look what I got for Mother’s Day… Score!  I love waffles and have been wanting a belgium waffle maker for awhile now.

 

I also received a subscription to Whole Living magazine from my cousin… she knows me so well :)

Today (Monday) was back to work and back to reality.  I was determined to get in some sort of exercise when I got home… and I did!  I knocked out 3.5 miles on the treadmill doing intervals while catching up on some shows I DVR’d last night.  Khloe and Lamar & The Dance Scene were my shows of choice today… I am really a reality junkie, please help! lol.

Oh and exciting news to end the night…  I found another bike event to do next month.  This one will be a 36 miler through 4 scenic parks located in Baltimore, MD.  It is called Tour dem Parks, Hon!… I love the name!

This will be one week after my half marathon, I am thinking it will actually be a good thing for my legs.  I heart my bike ;)

Well GFF’s, I am off to pack my gym bag in hopes that I go to BodyPump tomorrow after work.  I really need get in  as much weights as I can before my upcoming Warrior Dash in 2 weeks… I am excited and nervous at the same time!

Nite, nite!

~YGFF

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. greekmelie
    May 10, 2011 @ 00:55:49

    I hear you about the getting serious with training. My marathon is 4 weeks away. Say what???

    After that, I am thinking of giving cycling a try, but I don’t have a bicycle. The only friend of mine who bikes, is maybe too serious about his sport and he tells me some crazy amounts of money for even a “first try” bikes. Would you consider doing a post about how to score a decent first bike at a logical price? I want to give this an honest try, but since I don’t know if I will really like it at the end, I don’t want to invest too much money…

    Reply

    • yourgirlfriendforfitness
      May 10, 2011 @ 11:53:48

      I hear that, some of the bikers at the events are pretty hardcore. I am pretty much still a newbie and completely understand not wanting to invest too much money on a bike at first. I scored a good deal from off of craigslist. It definitely isn’t a bike like the “serious” bikers, but it works just perfectly for me :) Not sure how much of an expert I would be to write a post about it, but I wouldn’t mine doing one providing some resources on what helped me make my decision.

      Good Luck on your marathon!… I am super nervous about my half, this is definitely one I will just be happy to finish :)

      Reply

  2. Hannah
    May 10, 2011 @ 08:10:47

    *claps with glee* Ooh, how fabulous! I’m so, so glad these worked for you! Isn’t it crazy how delicious they are? I really need to make more myself, actually, but I keep forgetting to buy avocados… I also love that you kept my silly title too! Hurrah all around! :)

    Reply

    • yourgirlfriendforfitness
      May 10, 2011 @ 11:48:59

      I had to keep the title, it described it sooo perfectly :) Anything with Chocolate Icing of Pure Amazingness has to get made immediately, lol! Thx for the recipe! They are crazy delicious, and they hit the spot when I am having a sweet craving, which happens pretty often ;)

      Reply

  3. Jessica @ Dishin' About Nutrition
    May 10, 2011 @ 16:02:29

    Aww, she is so cute! I really want to try those brownies! I have been dabbling around with raw recipes too so this would be perfect for me to try!

    Reply

  4. vegan aphrodite
    May 12, 2011 @ 01:17:47

    Oh, your daughter is so cute!! Looks like a super star :D
    And I loove how those brownies looks! Yummiiii!

    Reply

  5. hippierunner
    May 12, 2011 @ 16:33:24

    Cute pictures! That is awesome you got such great gifts, especially since those are gifts that keep on giving, right? ;) The bike ride has such a funny name, looks like it would be so fun!

    Reply

  6. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans
    May 12, 2011 @ 21:15:40

    Awesome job with those 4 miles!! I wish my gym was equiped with tvs. When I run inside I stare at the mirror…not entertaining at all :(

    Reply

  7. Bonnie
    May 13, 2011 @ 16:02:54

    She is absolutely adorable!! I love the way she already knows which poses to do. So cute!
    I am super jealous that you have a cardio theater at your gym. It makes my gym sound so lame.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

