Setting Goals

Hello Blog World!  I am thrilled that you have stopped by to get to know me a little better.  If you have the time please read the “About Me” page and drop me a line to let me know you came by, I’m so glad that you did!  :)

Today I want to share with you one of the goals I have set for myself, well actually I will be sharing one long-term and one short-term goal.  I think that it is important to set goals, both short-term and long-term, because setting goals gives you long-term vision and short-term motiviation.

You give yourself a set of smalls goals that serve as motivation to lead you eventually to your long-term visualization.  Once you start to cross off some of these short-term goals, it also serves as a confidence booster because you can finally recognize your ability to achieve the bigger picture, especially if the big goal is something you had self-doubt in, or were a little hesitant in pursuing.

This is kind of the way I feel about wanting to become a Certified Wellness Coach.  Sometimes I feel that this goal is too big and wonder how in the world will I pull this off?!  I ask myself questions like:

“How do you expect to change careers this late in the game?”

“Who is going to come to you for advice?”

“How in the heck are you going to make money doing this?”…

But then I have just have shut those voices out because we all can fall victim to our own Negative Nancies trying to convince us that we can’t do something.

My solution for this is to:

1.  Treat this as a fun project and try to take some of the pressure off.  I think that even if I do not eventually make a career out of this, that this will be a great educational experience and I will benefit from it greatly in my personal life.  I do not plan on quitting my full-time job as an office manager, so I will not lose anything for trying.  This is something I can purse for fun at first, and if it grows into something more it will be even that much more special.

2.  Set smaller goals.  I am first going to study to become a Certified Personal Trainer (CPT).  This is my goal for 2011.  This is also a prerequisite for taking one of the programs that I want to enroll in to become a Certified Wellness Coach.  This is a smaller goal because I can study for this test in about 3-6 months and take the certification test whenever I feel comfortable and prepared, hopefully that will be by the end of the year.

I believe the smaller the goals I set, and the more knowledge I receive through completing these goals, the more confident I will be to keep moving forward.  It also helps that I may have a good friend of mine, my GFF that I spoke about on the “About Me” page, take the CPT test with me.  It is always a great to have a good support system!

My next post I will share some other goals, both fitness and personal that I set for myself at the beginning of this year.  It will be fun to see how well I stick with them… some I have already fallen behind on, but it’s never too late! :)  I wonder how many others out there actually write down and keep track of their resolutions or goals?

I  will also share a race recap with you.  On New Year’s Day I ran a 5k, that was my first goal for the year and helped to set the tone for the rest of my year.

See you soon!

~YGFF

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. premium minecraft
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 03:45:40

    Useful info. Fortunate me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I am surprised why this
    twist of fate didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked
    it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

